The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the personnel director asserts that all employees should take the the easy read course because of that would improve productivity. he support this recommendation by mentioning that two graduates showed increase in productivity and that it is not that expensive if you consider gains. this argument sounds persuasive at first, but the lack of evidence makes me to question the validity of the recommendation.

First, the personnel director should support his recommendation to provide concrete evidence on that the two graduate’s achievement in productivity increase is only because of the easy read course. it is likely that the highly improved graduate result is based on his innate ability. it is possible to consider the situation that of already having a high reading speed because of a lot of reading experiences past or that in already passed competitive stage for promotion. Thus, personal ability and situation differences make it hard to assume that all employee will improve a lot after this course.

Second, the personnel director’s recommendation is not persuasive because it miss the exact budget plan of the course and the number of employees. he states that $500 cost per employee is a small price to pay considering the benefit. However, in case of the company might have the huge number of people, it could economically pressure the company’s asset. Moreover, the lifelong subscription to the easy read newsletter might be too much without considering that employee wouldn’t work in this company for their whole life. Besides the exact budget plan for taking this course and the validity of the program composition, it is hard to accept that the $500 cost per employee is a negligible price.

Lastly, the personnel director hastily assumes that this reading course would profitable to all employee in the company. Such a position who reads a lot, like market reports analyzer, would profit a lot because of taking this reading course. but for people working in packing part or sales part, it might be not that results the productivity increase. Therefore, applying the same reading course to all employees and expecting the same productivity increase is illogical.

In brief, the director's argument is invalid since reading course may not increase employee's productivity. To strengthen the argument, the director needs to provide all the evidence mentioned above.