The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author asserts that all ten movie-rental stores should apply the policy of reducing operating hour and discarding DVD more than five years for improving profits. this argument may sound convincing at first, but the lack of evidence makes to have a question of its validity.

First, the author should provide solid evidence if closing the movie-rental store three hours earlier would not be problematic to gain income. For reducing operating expenses, he suggests to reduce opening hours. However, hours from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. might be profitable hours which earn the most income of the store. People who go back to their house after work could stop by movie-rental shop and rent a movie. In such case, shorten operating hour might affect a lot to the total income.

Second, the author should make supplementary explanation for changing DVD inventory. By discarding DVDs which is longer stocked than five years, he hastily expects that it will increase the profit of the store. but there could be a lot of customers who want to rent a movie which released 5 years before. In case of discarding old DVDs, the store cannot satisfy this customer. Thus, it can reduce the income of sales income. Without considering that these old DVDs are useless to increase the profit, this argument is not persuasive.

Lastly, the author’s assertion is not solid because he disregarded few complaints. he states that there were few complaints which is negligible. but it is not probable to assume these complaints are not considerable. few complaints could be serious reasons to reduce customers. In addition, these complaints accumulated for only one month. it could be negligible amount in first month but could be significant in near future.

In brief, the argument is unsolid because of aforementioned reasons. To strengthen, the author should provide more concrete evidence on the validity on that short operating hours and reducing DVDs would affect positively in increasing profits and that few complaints could be negligible.