Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Historical past is the time period the present people cannot never visit, so a lot of imagination is required what was it happened before. some people argued that this historical creativity is too fanciful so they do not consider as history which interprets the past with imaginative ideas. Even though there were not enough way to prove the factuality of historical imagination, historical past requires the certain degree of creativity.

Accepting all imagination from historical accounts, documents, and artifacts as a real is unpersuasive. some novels and movies are the result of imagination based on historical facts. For instance, “The name of the rose” by Umberto Echo, which tells what happened in the church of middle age in Europe, was based on the real documents which describes European middle east church. But people mentioned do not accept this kind of novel and movies as a fully historical fact. Because we all know that this is a writer’s imagination. it is hard to prove the factuality of historical imagination, it is hard to that all imagination from historical accounts are valid.

Nevertheless, the reason that it is impossible to know the past directly, certain degree of creativity is essential to evaluating the historical accounts. Most archeological research, from deducing the use of stone age tool to the huge mysterious creature pyramid in Egypt, ask to use the imagination. Without imagination of archeologists, it might be impossible to reason the ancient people’s purpose and behavior. Therefore, certain degree of imagination is flourishing the historical studying in many aspects.

In conclusion, I agree with the argument that understanding the historical past requires creativity. Lacking of way to know the ancient period directly, we only can know the past indirect way with imagination or creativeness.