Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Law and the legal system is one of the powerful way to change the people’s behavior and the promise between the society members. In some degree, it is true that laws cannot change and influence people’s heart and minds, however, legislation can change people’s value and perspectives and even make new behavior patterns.

Admittedly, changing what people thought in their heart and minds by a law is unsound in some situations. As an example, when National government enact the law of limiting plastic cups and plastic bags at a cafe and supermarket, people still ask to use plastic things for their convenience. As the side of service provider, shop owner felt hard to refuse this customer’s ask. Thus, people still use plastic cups at a cafe and this unchanging behavior acute in newspaper several times. As we can see in this case, I partly agree that it is hard to totally change the people’s mind by a law.

Even though we accept this, it is hard to agree that modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. laws that have contributed to change people’s belief and attitude. In case of Paris agreement in 2015, laws between developed countries, who cares about global environments, enacted in global society to reduce the co2 production. As limiting the greenhouse gas production, people try to prevent the global warming. Factories could produce more and make more profit rather than stop their manufacturing to reduce the co2 production. Without this agreement, how many business leaders can make a decision to limit their production only because of the environment? From this aspect, letting know people about the limits and regulation by a law is the effective way to solve the modern society problematic situation.

In addition, law not only contribute to change the society but also affect to people perspectives and recognition. Before enacting the labor law in Korea 2019, constricting working hours to 52 hours a week, people have no concept about over-working. it was hard to use holidays and working until late hour was normal in company which has a competitive culture. but after the enactment of the labor laws, the recognition of the employer and employee changed. employers starts to think about the company culture and employee’s welfare and employees can officially ask of their authority to do not work in unappropriated hour.

Even though the law cannot change the people’s thinking in heart, I still agree that law and legal system is one of the powerful ways to solve the modern society. law is the social appointment to form the modern society to a better world. Saying this important appointment as impotent is unpersuasive.