The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the owner of the apartment asserts that reducing the maximum waterflow of showerhead to one-third of its past will increase profits of the Sunnyside Towers complex. he supports his claim with such evidence with the result of modifying waterflow in last month and the fact that only a few complain was accepted. this assertion seems convincing at first, but unsounded evidences make me to reconsider about its validity.

First, the author needs to provide more solid evidence about the actual amount of water usage before and after the modification. he mentioned that actual readings of water usage are not yet available, so it is hard to conclude whether actual usage is decreased or not. Even if total water usage decreased, the reason of decrease could not be originated from the adjustment of water flow. also, the author mentioned that this change will save the water expenses of Sunny corporation. but we don’t know how many and what kind of properties are existed in this corporation. Therefore, we cannot conclude the mere modification in apartment complex would actually affect the expense of the entire corporation.

Second, the author should supply more concrete evidence about the resident’s complaints. he admitted there existed a few complaints which can be negligible. but he cannot simply deduce these few complaints as unimportant. People may too busy to complain or just wait until it solved naturally. water flow adjustment only continued for a month, so there can be accumulation of dissatisfaction in the future. Then, it can be a serious problem to residents and harm the satisfaction of the apartment badly.

Third, the author didn’t give us sound evidence about the adjustment condition would be same in first three buildings to all twelve buildings. The first three building possibly have relatively higher water pressure than others, so it was not that problematic here, but it would be different in the rest of buildings. also, there could be other expenses to adjust the waterflow. The new showerhead for low water pressure might be needed, or other pressure control machine could be additionally established. In such a situation, increase in profits cannot be assured.

In brief, the letter from the owner of the apartment was unconvincing. To strengthen this assertion, we need more verified evidences if the actual water usage would decrease, if it relates to the profits and if residents’ complain would not be significant permanently.