The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the author states that the radio station should change the broadcasting format from rock-music to a news and talk format to prevent a decline in listener. The author supports this argument by giving some evidences as main form of moving in the city as new residents and the local sales of recorded music. this assortment looked convincing at first, but it is unsound because of following reasons.

first, the author should give a supplementary evidence of newly moved in residents about how many are they or whether they prefer rock-music or news and talk show. In case of relatively small number of new residents moved in than that of people who already resides, it can be negligible amount to consider. Also, even after their retirement, new residents possibly like the rock-music or music in general, and even do not listen radio at all. Besides more accurate evidence about new residents, it is hard to conclude to change the radio format for increasing listeners.

Second, the author should mention more concrete evidence about the decrease sales in local record shop represent the whole dislike of music in this area. he asserts that the radio show format should be changed to the news and talk show because of the decreasing selling trend in the local record shop. decline in sales might not be because of the dislike in music. There can be other reasons such as people start to listen music by a smart phone, Youtube music streaming. Thus, not mentioning about no other factors affects in the decrease of sales, it is hard to conclude to chance the radio format.

Third, the author should give a supplementary evidence that changing radio format wouldn’t affect to the original listener. To gain more new listeners, he asserts to change the format of radio show to increase the number of listeners. accepting the importance of new listener’s tastes, he didn’t consider the present listener. if the radio changes its format suddenly, it is possible to lost the present listener who loves the present rock-music format.

In sum, this argument omits evidence aforementioned, it is not persuasive to accept the author’s assumption. To strengthen this argument the author would rather provide concrete evidence which is mentioned before. if so, the argument would be more convincing in many respects.