Claim Though often considered an objective pursuit learning about the historical past requires creativity Reason Because we can never know the past directly we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts documents and artif

Hisory is mystery. It remains to be a mystery untill a time machine is invented. Till then, we merely have palimpsest marks across the globe to understand what happened a thousand years back with humanity or a million years before even we were called humans. Now historians have to understand what left over marks speak about past, which probably exists in a different way of communication.

One would exalt the ingenuity of historians If we look at the way they attempted to backtrace legendary civilizations. For instance, before 1800, nobody knew there was indus valley civilization existed in southern Asia. One fine day historian Max muller discovers a metal weapon that seemed pretty old. Digging deep down into the matter lead into discovery of other materials around the place. Carbon dating the materials found showed that, these elements were engineered thousands of years back. with enormous creativity used in decoding found, Finally we could discover the food habits,clothing and even to the extent of identifieng their death rituals. Imagine all the creative process invlolved from discovering a civilization with the spark of a metal piece.

Further, Understanding historical remains involves decoding of languages spoke in other generation which no more exists. Often times historias have recreated languages spoke in other time, with the bits and pieces of informaation discovered. correlating a common word found in diffrent contexts and reinventing it's meaning requires ingenuity.

To conclude, history doesn't provide you with a well documented text of what happend in past. historians decode the past with their creative imagination.