In most professions and academic fields imagination is more important than knowledge

The given prompt suggests that in most professions imagination is more important than the knowledge. we may recall Albert Einstein saying imagination is more important than knowledge. It is important to acknowledge that, we knowing that statement itself is knowledge. Though in few professions imagination is more important than knowledge, Most of current day professions and academic fields fundamentally needs Knowledge as more important the imagination itself.

To begin with, Professions that fulfill our basic needs are more dependent on knowledge rather than the creative power of imagination. For example, a farmer growing food in his land should have the knowledge of different stages of an agricultural crop cycle. He requires knowledge of each stage from cleaning the land to finally taking out the crop out of land. Only when he has this knowledge, all of us get to eat. If he only has the creative power to imagine, like what might be happening inside the seed that lead it to full crop, may be he will know a lot about the process, but all of us will still be inn empty stomach. Just like farmers, most professions which fulfill our daily needs like, construction workers of a building , security guards, house keeping, cooking and many other jobs that gives us the end result needs knowledge of that job more than the imagination. It is important to notice that, this constitutes more part of professions we do.

The above discussed importance of knowledge is essential in academics as well. But academics , along with the knowledge requires imagination in equal importance. For example, A student who wants to study the cosmos, has to first of all grasp the knowledge that the world already has about our cosmos.

He first needs to know that, earth revolves around sun and it's not the other way. He may need to understand current mathematical equations used for understanding black holes.If one ignores importance of this knowledge he might spend most of his imagination to rediscover the already known knowledge to humanity. Once the academian understand the existing knowledge he might use his imagination to have a better understanding to fill the gaps in current understanding. Hence in academics knowledge and imaginations are equally essential.

It's important to acknowledge that some jobs that directs most of the professions in the world, need to have imagination along with the knowledge. However, for most of the professions, in many cases knowledge has more fundamental importance than imagination.