The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently , we signed a contract with the Fly­Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City , but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company , which we have used for many years in Palm City , continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored

there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly­Away ."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memo, the vice president of a food distribution company argues that they should return to Buzz off for all their pest control services, which they have used for many years. Although the argument of the vice president may seem valid at first, the lack of solid evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the vice president should supply more concrete evidence on the soundness of the result from Fly-Away pest control company.He states that they contracted with the company recently to provide pest control services in palm city, but it led to pest damage of $20,000 worth of food last month. However, it is possible that “last month” situation is temporary because of the weather. it may have been hot and humid last month. In addition, they “recently” signed a contract with the Fly-Away. Thus, they should monitor food damage in the long run. therefore, contracting with the Fly-Away company may not have detrimental effect on their company.

Next, the vice president needs to supplement the argument with more solid evidence on the validity of the comparison between Fly-Away and Buzzoff. it is plausible that Winterville, where Buzzoff has worked for many years, may be located in the north so the temperature might be lower than palm city where Fly-Away worked. As a result, to compare them, he needs to consider innate conditions of two cities. Moreover, the food damage worth between them should be indicated by the form of percentage. it is likely that the storage warehouse in palm city is very substantial, so $20,000 food destroyed may be minute. On the other hand, the storage warehouse in Winterville is small so $10,000 might be substantial. therefore, Fly-Away may not harm to the food storage warehouse in palm city.

Lastly, more specific evidence is needed on the prices of two companies. The vice president admitted that the price charged by Fly-Away is substantially lower than Buzzoff. In all likelihood, the price is a very significant issue to save money and the price of Buzzoff may be extremely expensive. Besides, it would be far-fetched to state that returning to Buzzoff is the “best” way to save money. There are better ways. Buzzoff can be recommended to most services, not all services.

In brief, the argument is not sound. To bolster the argument, the vice president should provide the aforementioned evidence.