Nation should suspend government funding for art when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Art as a token of culture and history has always been protected by government, in order to pass on generations. Recently, facing significant numbers of starvation and rising rate of unemployment, scholars proposed that, “nation should suspend government funding for art when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry.” I agree with the proposal.

Some people might argue that art is an important part of culture. Present generation has the responsibility to protect it and inherit to next generations to study the culture and history of the nation. Starvation and poverty are economic issues that happened in every country; it will be fixed without sacrificing funding for art from governments. Overall, the significance of art as an accumulative essence of history and culture surpasses the influences of undergoing starvation and poverty.

Although art is the essence of cultures of a nation that should be well-protected, there is a prefix, which is nation. When a nation is facing significant number of starvation and severe unemployment, impending possibilities of crash is emerging. If government neglects the imminent danger and still indulgently funding art when large amount of people is starving to death, the regime will be toppled, and the art that presents the history and culture will be displayed and exhibited in foreign museums.

At the moribund era of the once glorious Qing Dynasty in China, government funds lots of its nation`s fortune on protecting its art, museums were built at an outrageous rate, such as the Summer Palace, the Palace Museum; while its people were facing severe poverty. The hatred of people to the local regime were escalating in a direct proportion to relentless ground-breaking museums were being built. Finally, economy hits its lowest, and with poverty was so rampant, the crime rates increased; the money spent on funding art, depleted the government treasury. Foreign countries saw the predicament of the crashing pendulum that nation was facing, then invaded China; at the same time, the hatred of citizens have been accumulated for so long and it exploded whiles the invasion of foreign countries. The once grandiose architects and museums were burnt in ashes, the paintings, sculptures and all other art forms were pillaged by both foreign troops and local citizens. Now, Chinese people only can embrace their own essence of Culture in France, England and all the other foreign countries.

Art flourishes the finest when a nation is prosperous the most. The Renaissance originated in Italy during middle age, when Italy was the most prosperous country in Europe; the Art Culmination of China took places in Tang Dynasty and Song Dynasty; these two dynasties were the most powerful and prosperous empires at the time. When poverty line with lots of its nation`s people facing starvation and high unemployment rate, there is no country in the history with blossom of art emerging at the same time.

Art reflects its habitational prosperity. A nation prosperity ensures protection of its heritage art and development of future art; a nation`s poverty guarantees impending dangers to its existing art and there is less chance for developing future art. If a nation could not protect its people from starvation and poverty, let alone its art. Nation should make sure its people`s basic needs being satisfied first, then start to make budget for its art.