people primarily use the identification of the social groups to define themsleves

Whether one can get success partially depends on how this person define himself. Properly defining oneself makes one follow the right path to make efforts thereby get success more quickly and make more contribution to the society. Thus, people pay attention on the problem of how to define themselves. Someone argues that since humans live under the social context, how people define themselves primarily through their identification with social groups. This statement seems plausible; however, it overlooks the important roles of people themselves and destroys the integrity of the whole society.

Admittedly, the social groups play an important role of helping people to define themselves. That is because people are social animals that have been educated to learn and behave to fit the society from their childhoods. Their social status are criteria to measure the success of themselves. therefore, people use their social identifications as their own identifications, and they behave themselves to match their social identifications. In the common lives, people usually use their social identification to introduce themselves, such as, “I am a doctor” or “I am a teacher”. They also act as the identifications that assigned in the social groups. Doctors find out the ways to cure people; teachers educate people and help people to adjust their behaviors; and leaders of the nation try to make strategies to increase well-beings of their citizens. Thus, it is understandable that someone claim that people define themsleves through their identificaiton with social groups.

Nevertheless, people themselves are the main determinants of how they define themselves. people’s minds and behaviors are controlled by themselves instead of any exterior factors. Hence, social groups can only influence people’s minds, but cannot controlled people’s mind to force them define themsleves in any way that they do not want to. This can be elaborate in the feminist movement which first started in 20 century in Europe. Before women fight for their rights of reproduction, equal pay, and suffrage etc., women were saw as properties that belonged to men. If women defined themselves through their social groups, they would stay at home to do houseworks, take care of children and their husbands, and still be treat as properities that inferior to men. Those feminists, however, define themselves through their own minds instead of their social identification, made women gain their social status as equal as men.

Using social identification to define ourselves is also harmful for the integrity of the society. The society is composed with diverse subgroups; such groups interact with each other to ensure the integrity and the progress of the society. If people define themsleves through their social groups, they would loss this interaction with other groups since such way to define themselves will constrain their minds. If people define themselves primarily through their identification of their social groups, say, a doctor, he may think that doctor is his identification above to any other identificaitons. In fact, he may also be a son, a husband, a fathor, or a politician. However, primarily defining himself as a doctor would constrain his mind to act as other roles, which would prevent him from interactions with other groups, result in breaking the integrity of the society and impede the progress.

Overall, people themseleves are dominant of their perceptiveness and behaviors. They are the active individuals to determine who they are instead of passively controlled by their social groups. Therefore, people define themselves primarily through their own minds but not their identifications of their social groups.