scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speakers or reformers ever could

It is true that scandals help a great deal in focusing attention on problems that no speaker or reformer could ever speak of. For this reason, I agree with the author that the scandals are useful. However, misusing of scandals will cause negative effects. There should be a limitation on the use of scandals.

Since the scandals are merely rumors, one of its characteristics is uncertainty. Therefore, they cannot be raised by speaker or reformers since such people are of a certain level of integrity hence cannot want to be seen to be peddling uncertain things. However, scandals can be helpful by attracting public attentions on a problem that people in authority do not want to touch. The famous Watergate scandal can elaborate it. The scandal has come to compass an array of illegal activities on the political opponents undertaken by members of Nixon administration. Before the scandal, no speaker or reformer touch this issue, because it is uncertain. However, the scandal led the attention of the public. The Supreme Court intervene investigation. The scandal resulted in 69 governors being charged, Nixon resigned, and the law was amended. It strengthened the supervisory process of election.

Scandal is a tactic to solve problems that cannot be solved by laws. For example, some enterprises try to exploit the loopholes of laws to deceive customers in order to get more profit. Customers cannot use laws to save their interests, but if they put their issues on social media, sometimes, the enterprises will compromise under the pressure of the public.

Otherwise, scandal can also explore some social problems, even some of them are not true. Many famous people, such governors or stars, have been exposed love affairs during marriage. Some of them are true, but some of them are just for hype. Regardless the authenticity of the scandals, this kind of scandals attract public attention on issues of family, marriage, and relationships. The scandal is just a rumor, yet the issue it generated have the educational meaning for the public.

Although scandal has some merits, it can only be used as a backup plan for issues that is uncertain or cannot be solved through legitimate ways. It cannot be used as the primary method, because of its uncertainty. Scandals are just rumoring that come up in the public. It is not forwarded to the right authority to be ascertained and resolved. This means that for a scandal to be helpful in discovering problems, there has to be a body that is put in place to ascertain whether the allegations are true or falls. The body that ascertains the truth in the scandals preferably has to have the power to pass legal consequences to the perpetrators of the crime.

The second ground where scandals stop being useful is where the scandals serve more as an entertainment tool than a way to uncover and solve problems. Some individuals would just like to hear of scandals to pass time. such individuals would waste time and reduce the work efficiency.

Thus, scandal is useful, but it should be used properly. It does focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could, however, there should be a body that have the power to pass legal consequences to ascertains the truth in the scandals. Misusing or only depending on scandals to solve problems will have negative effect on society