many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another

Discoveries and creations are symbols for human society. Human ensure their sustainability by provide innovative discoveries or creations to the society continuously. Because humans’ enthusiasm on new discoveries and creations, they made themselves distinct to other animals. During the process of innovation, there are some discoveries are accidental, thus someone proposed that many important discoveries or creations are accidental because it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another. However, I do not agree with this statement.

Admittedly, some discoveries are accidental. During the research process, it is common that there are some productive errors or accidents that give scientists surprises. Post-it notes are widely known. It is invented by accidents. There was a 3M chemist named Dr. Spencer Silver. When he was attempting to invent a super adhesive, by accident, he created a super weak adhesive instead, which can be only used to adhere things temporarily. This invention is very useful in a study or work places. It brought many conveniences to common lives.

Although some discoveries are accidental, most of important inventions are created in purpose. For example, Thomas Edison began to work on the electrical illumination, because that he wanted to find a way to compete the gas and oil light. He dedicated his energies on this experiment. His first light test can last 14.5 hours. After being granted the patent, he continued his experiments. He changed materials, and after more than thousand experiments, he eventually invented an electrical light that can last 1200 hours. This invention is very important to humans’ lives. Edison conducted experiments totally in purpose.

Additionally, if saying many important discoveries are accidental, it is very disrespectful for the contributions that those scientists made. Even though some discoveries are accidental, they need scientists to make further study to ensure them can be beneficial for humans’ society. This process also needs scientists to satisfy their time and energies on the projects. Marie Curie and her husband’s discovery of radium is an accident. When the Curies studied the mineral earlier, after they removed the uranium from it, they found that the remaining material was still radioactive. Then radium was discovered. However, the Curies used the rest of their lives to dedicate on radium’s studies. Not only did the Curies make huge contribution to humans’ lives and society progress, Marie curie also satisfied her life because of the long-term exposure to radium. Because of the Curies’ tremendous contributions to the society, no one can say the discovery of radium is just an accident.

Overall, most of important discoveries are created in purpose. There are not invents are totally accidents. Scientists contributed their time and energies, some of them even dedicated their lives on the invents. People should respect to those scientists who made contributions to the progress of society.