Government should offer free of charge to students in college

As various levels of academic performances shown in colleges, some scholars posted that, “a part of the reasons for the differences is placed by tuition charged by institutions, the financial burdens distract students from study. Therefore, government should offer free of charge to students in college.” I agree the scholars` opinion that financial burdens could distract students from academic focus, however, to offer free of charge is not a perfect solution to the problem. Free of charge could potentially have a negative impact on not only students themselves, but also institutes, and governments.

Some people might argue, the merits of free of charge are obvious. Without vexation over money, the time students spent on jobs could shift to study; and family, as well, would not worry about financial status for their children. At last, it is an auspicious policy for students.

However, as said above, the free of financial could really transfer to escalate of academic performance or would be counterproductively lower the performances. Free of charge relaxes the nerves of student on financial matters, however, the relaxation might lead to irresponsibility of study; with the pressure of tuition, students have the incentive of not to spend money over the same course again that would push students to study to pass and to get a desirable score; without the pressure, the incentive is gone, students would have a peace of mind of failing classes, since there are always free chances to make it up. The sense of responsibility would gradually disappear.

Free of charge could have negative ripple effects on institutions and governments. Free of charge relaxes of financial burden from students, but the burden is loading on institutions and governments. Free of charge on tuition does not mean that researches do not need to be fund, or teachers would not need to be paid. By subtracting of revenues coming from students, institutions and government would need to figure out solutions to compensate the gap. Government would have more budget made for education, and institutions would have to come up with ideas to gain commercial benefits. The sequential effects of other stakeholders need to be fully analyzed.

Indeed, there are countries that offers almost free of charge on tuition for students in college, such as China. However, the outcome is not satiable. Almost all major Universities in China are government fund and charge for a minimum price tag on tuition. However, the fund is limited compare to the demands, and the distribution of the limited budget does not go evenly to each university. Therefore, in order to acquire more funding from government, there are venal corruption occurred during the distribution of funding, such as bribery, paybacks to decision makers. Moreover, with the shortage of funding, salaries could not be fully paid; thus, the trend of professors having another job and treat professing as a part-time job is prevalence nowadays in China. Indeed, the teaching qualities is discounted, and as the responsibility of professors shifted from education to business, there are less care from professors about students, thus, students are careless of their academic performances. The negative circulation would keep spinning till it out of control.

Overall, free of charge on tuition is a good idea to release students` financial concerns; instead, government and institutions could open more part-time positions for colleges students of related areas; it not only reduces the money pressure, but also could help students better practice the knowledge that they learn in class. Also, more scholarship is another alternative to release financial burden, and to motivate students on academic.