In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting

points of view

progression is a distinct characteristic of human being that distinguish from other animals. human being has been progressing from primitive society to today`s modern society, whereas, other animals roughly stay the same. On promoting progression, scholars have been exploring the most method efficient methods. some pointed out that in any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view. Despite contrasting points of views is important for the development of human society, to say “in any situation” is exaggerating.

Admittedly, contrasting points of view is salutary for deep understandings of things. I. it is very difficult for people to have a deep understanding of things without a holistic point of views. contrasting points provide different aspects of views from one`s own that helps a person understand things more thoroughly from multiple perspectives. The thorough knowledge could help people progress on such matter more efficiently. For instance, one likes running. he thinks that running benefits humans’ health, makes people lose weight, and promote humans’ respiratory systems. Because the individual likes running, it is difficult for him to consider the cons of running. however, if someone tell him running may hurt people’s knees, then the person will have a wide perception of both pros and cons of running. Once one has a deep understanding of running, he would then find a way to alleviate the shortcomings of running, such as shorten the time of running or upgrade one`s running techniques, thereby to maximize the efficiency of running.

Although contrasting points have some merits for progression, during a sport match, contrasting points of view are unnecessary and even detrimental. team sports need high-level of cooperation. it may need some contrasting points for the match strategies during practices. however, during the match, players have to keep accordance to win the game. contrasting points of view during the sport match would devastate morale. this can be elaborated proven in basketball team sports game. during the game, the coach determines the strategies and players keep cooperation to win the game. if there is an opposite voice during the game, it would waste time, and make players confused. The confusion during the game will could decrease their motivation thereby diminished morale, thus cause the loss of games. e, to say that “a contrasting view is beneficial in any situation” is fallacious,

progression could be a process of self-exploration, with neglectable interference of others, if there is any. . When people have proficient knowledge and motivations to make progress, progression could be a product of self-effort Thomas edison’s experiments of electrical illumination can explain this point. edison’s first electrical light can last 13.5 hours. After he got the patent of his invention, everyone applauded him, however he was not satisfied for his accomplishment. he continued his study until he found a new material can make the electrical light lasting 1200 hours. Edison experienced more than thousand experiments. during his study, he did not receive any contrasting points, he just insisted on his opinion and continuously improve his study. e progression on light bulb demonstrated that self-motivation and self-efforts is efficient enough for making progressions.