The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

“Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children’s books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children’s books are likely to decline. By replacing its children’s books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean”.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Monarch Books should not make a rash and incorrect decision based on insufficient and tenuous data. There must be further evidence provided to bolster this argument. Monarch Books made the faulty assumption of increasing profits, that it would beat its competition by replacing the children’s section with a café, based on three mistaken reasons: the national census data does not fully represent Collegeville’s population; Collegeville citizens are passionate about cafes in bookstores; and that Monarch Books would be successful in rebuilding their business model.

The national census data does not accurately nor fully represent the children’s population in Collegeville. The selected sample size, methodology, validity and reliability are unknown for this national census data study. Maybe the sampling did not include anyone from Collegeville, as it could be a very small town; maybe the general national trend in majority of cities are declining in children’s population, but the children’s population in Collegeville has boomed. The generalised national data cannot represent Collegeville’s individual town’s condition. If the specific Collegeville population data for children under 10 is represented as evidence, then this evidence could strengthen Monarch Books’ claim.

As the excerpt suggests, Monarch Books has a large customer-base is due to its reader-friendly environment and an abundance of book choices. Demolishing the children’s books section would be a self-sabotaging act for Monarch Books, as it is limiting the selection of books, as well as destroying the reader-friendly atmosphere. Even if the national consensus is representative of Collegeville, it doesn’t mean that Monarch Books would sell less children books. The local government could just have implemented “50 books per year” initiative for young children, and local schools are looking to purchase plenty of children books. Or local adults are buying children books for their young relatives out of town. Again, evidence regarding the reasons for purchasing children’s books would help make a more informed decision for Monarch Books.

Monarch Books again hastily assumed that the Collegeville citizens are thrilled about the idea of the combination of a bookstore and café, and that it would lead to a soar in profits. Monarch Books jumped quickly to the conclusion that Book and Bean would take their regular consumers away, because of the unique selling point of selling coffee within the bookstore. However, the locals probably dislike caffeinated beverages; or they might not want to have coffee while book browsing or studying. Perhaps a local survey that sample Monarch Books customers on their beverage preferences, and whether a coffee and book combined establishment would attract them, would help Monarch Books make a more informed decision.

Finally, if the factors above mentioned are successfully established, it does not necessarily lead to an increase of profits for Monarch Books. If Monarch Books decide to revamp and refurnish the children’s book area, there will be significant costs, such as purchasing coffee equipment, tables and chairs, barista and other staff, etc. The coffee house licensing, in-house staff training, and following health and safety regulations would be another giant addition for costs. Also, by quixotically adding a café into the scene, Monarch Books did not consider the risks it is taking without any previous café-running experience. With the revenue unknown with the new competition in town, and the certain additional costs from renovating, and the risk from changing their business model, there is no guarantee for Monarch Books’ profit to rise. Risk evaluations, specific costs, and long-term business outlook predictions must be provided as evidence to further substantiate Monarch Books’ argument.