The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the evidence offered to argue the main claims of this argument are not as cogent as they appear. Concluding building a golf course and hotel in Brindleburg will have beneficial outcomes assuming the two cities share similarities and other factors did not play a role in the success in Seaside Vista, is unreasonable.

Firstly, the mayor of Brindleburg fails to provide evidence to support the similarities of Seaside Vista and Brindleburg. If these two cities differed in the tourism rates prior to building the new attractions, the comparison is illogical. Before the additional of the new golf course and resort, it could have been that Seaside Vista was the epicenter for tourism in the area and already had people visiting the popular area like Los Angles in California. Compared to Brindleburg, which could be a rural city that does attract much attention like Enumclaw, Washington. This would mean, the results of public advancements could also be disparate, demonstrating differing results. If this were the case, the comparison that the arguer has established are unreliable. On the other hand, if the author presented information the illustrated the two cities were similar and showed the same flow of tourism in the past, the argument would be more plausible. In either case, it cannot be surely said if something is successful in one area, then it will definitely be successful in another.

Moreover, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine, Seaside Vista and Brindleburg have shown identical tourist rates and there is a credible method to conclude the success will mirror one another, it is still baseless to assume the favorable outcomes in Seaside Vista was due to the new innovations. So, the author continues to speculate that no other factors could influence the success of Seaside Vista. For example, the economy could have been flourishing for that period of time. This would have allowed the residents to earn more money and also save which would show why there was a steep rise in loan applications and tax money collection. Then, this could be the distinctive reason of Seaside Vista’s success. However, if there was data brought to light that showed no change in economy trends or income rates, then the argument would hold more validity. But even so, statistics from two years ago cannot be sufficient to argue this claim.

Lastly, the argument is built upon superficial data. The author states “, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors.” But it is not mentioned where this data is taken from and how it was conducted. It could be this data was part of theoretical results and mean it is not actually plausible and weaken the argument.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions in the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to prove Brindleburg will surely show intended results after public improvements.