Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions including there are similarities to the two cities that can allow for comparisons to be made, there are no other factors contributing to the perceived outcomes and does not elaborate on the statements made in the argument. Concluding the health benefits of a relaxed paced life in Leeville explains the reasons for fewer sick days and a lower number of diagnosis of stress-related illnesses, is unreasonable.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidence to justify the reasoning to compare Leeville and Masonton. The author states Leeville is a small town and Masonton is a large city but does not include the exact number of populations of either. It is possible that Leeville is a town with only 100 residents and there are 10,000 people residing in Masonton. If this were the case, the sample populations in both areas are too disparate to draw similarities and conclusions regarding to health benefits, leading to an illogical comparison of the areas. Moreover, the author implies that Masonton does not provide a relaxed life, but it could be that Masonton is not a busy city and also provides the luxuries of a relaxed paced life. This would further make the argument questionable. On the other hand, if the author presented information that life in Masonton was quick paced compared to Leeville, the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, the argument does not include reasons to compare the two cities.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine, Masonton is indeed a quick paced city and there is credible reasoning to compare them, it is still unjust to conclude the health benefits seen in Leeville are due to the relaxed life based solely on that piece of evidence. So, the author continues to ignore to account for other factors that could be showing the trend seen. For example, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is lower in Leeville than in Masonton but this could be because the access to doctors in the small town of Leeville is lower than Mason. This distinction could be the reason that the citizens of Masonton are getting diagnosed with illnesses more. In other words, it is not that Leeville has less citizens with stress-related illnesses instead, less diagnosed citizens, which is not equal to less stress-related illnesses in the area. If the author presented data that showed the access to healthcare in the two areas were the same, the argument would be strengthened.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to provide a compelling case to prove the health benefits seen in Leeville are because of its relaxed paced lifestyle.