Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The idea of providing additional training to those with special talents is an intricate one. Some believe reinforcing special talents of some children at an early age will further help develop their talents. However, identifying children with special talents in society and providing them with training will lead to advantages and favoring of some individuals and an unequal education.

First, providing extra training to those with special talents will be more advantageous to some than others. Imagine, a child coming from a higher socio-economic class than most of her peers and she excels in gymnastics. Her parents have the resources and savings to provide her with further training to develop her skills. If the same child was from a low-income household, they may not have money to spare to help pay for this additional activity. This distinction will build a path for favoring a part of society over another because these individuals have more time, money, transportation, contacts and more. In the end, some child will be unable to attend training for their special talents because they simply do not have the resources.

Furthermore, allowing additional training to those with special talents could demonstrate an unequal distribution of education. Take into consideration the little girl from the lower-income family that cannot expand her skills in her special talent of gymnastics because she is unable to provide the money required to put her through these peculiar and rigorous training courses. This will lead some children to build a stronger foundation for their future compared to others and in other words helping some children reach their full potential while others cannot accomplish their goals because they cannot afford them. Consequently, an unfair system will develop which will help some succeed more than others.

Finally, some may argue this practice will help children reach their full potential. For example, if the child is more advanced in physics compared to others in his class, providing him with training at an early age will help develop his math skills and he could someday be the world’s greatest physicist discovering an important theory. Although this is true, it does not show the extreme side of the spectrum, which could lead to disadvantages to others.

Though the reasons to identifying children with special talents has valid points, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. This system will allow for the favoring of individuals and an unequal education.