Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The qualities an effective teacher must possess vary when asking person to person. Some believe to be an effective teacher, one must be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students. However, it is more important for teachers to be understanding and empathetic to be effective because they may encounter outlying circumstances and the introduction of learning to young children must be done slowly.

First, there are situations that exist in which the expectations of the teacher may not be met and the teacher must respond with empathy. Imagine, a college math professor is giving his midterm on a specific day and the morning of that same day, the father of one of his student dies with a stroke. This student may not be emotionally stable enough to competently complete his exam. Most teachers nowadays would postpone this exam for this particular student to take at a later time when the student is more oriented to reality. In other words, teachers sympathize with the issues their students are dealing with and allow alternatives for their students to keep up with their course work. If this same teacher had instead dealt with this situation more rigorously, he may have demanded his student to complete the exam on the day it was scheduled, which could have caused a lower than normal score for the student because he was unable to focus on the exam. This would be an inaccurate representation of the student’s potential. As it can be seen, teachers should focus on understanding and empathizing with their students to perceive an accurate representation of their capabilities.

Furthermore, pushing young students into demanding classes with unyielding expectations can be disadvantageous than it seems. Take into consideration a young 3-year old boy who is starting preschool. He has not had social interactions outside of his family, nor has he had any formal instruction of some sort. This student is completely new to school, formal and social culture. The new rigorous expectations bestowed upon him may cause confusion because he has not had these interactions before. These harsh expectations may lead this student to become less interested in school and more rebellious due to the increasing confusion. So, if the teacher eases the child into schoolwork and school expectations with a flexible agenda, it would be more beneficial for the student and teacher.

Finally, some may argue teachers that are more understanding and empathetic than rigorous and demanding may cause leniency in the teacher and students to become lazy. For example, if a teacher in college is known for being relaxed and lenient, students may tend to procrastinate on their assignments because they know the professor will accept their work at any time in the quarter. This does not prepare them for the real world because some deadlines for tasks will have to be met. Although this is true, being understanding and empathetic is not the same as being lenient. One can be understanding and empathetic while not being lenient.

Though there are reasons to believe having rigorous and demanding expectations can lead to be an effective teacher, these claims do not outweigh the benefits of opposing side. It is more important to understand the needs of students and their learning styles. Thus, to be an effective teacher, one must possess the quality of understanding and empathy.