The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on a foundationless assumption that the increased usage of salicylates is a sufficient amount of evidence to conclude a study. Concluding the decline in headaches in Mentia based on the prior stated assumption is unreasonable.

First, the argument does not offer any specifics of the study conducted. To start, it is not mentioned how the level of headaches was measured in the study. It is possible that the data subsumed in the study, were a result of self-reporting from the people of Mentia. But in self-reporting studies, individuals tend to be either untruthful or not completely fixed on an answer. Including a mixture of answers that are not fully accurate in the study, could render the study unreliable. Moreover, the argument fails to state the population that the study focuses on. Could it be that those encompassed in the experiment were those who are not prone to headaches in the first place? If this is the case, this is a misrepresentation of residents suffering from headaches in Mentia. On the other hand, if the study presented what population was included in the study, the argument would hold more validity. In either case, the study would still lack authenticity due to the unmeasurable method of self-declaration for the decline in headaches by the residents.

Going forward, the argument also fails to address other issues presented. Assume that the study discovers a method that allows for accurate measurements of headaches, the argument would still fail to consider other factors that could lead to the same results as the study. For one, salicylates are members of the same family group as aspirin, but these two chemicals can have differing effects. There is a possibility that salicylates actually have insidious impacts on the human body and it is too soon to display the actual effects of salicylates. It is also possible that salicylates play no factor in pain-relieving at all. If any of these statements were true, the argument is without basis. Additionally, the study does not take into account other factors that could be demonstrating a decline in headaches. For instance, factors such as more exercise or a decrease in everyday screen time could be playing a role in the downward trend in headaches. The failure of considering other factors influencing the study, illustrates a lack of correlation between the decline in headaches and salicylates. However, if researchers shed light on the effects of aspirin and salicylates on the human body, it would allow the argument to be more plausible. But it is still difficult to halt all influences of additional factors disrupting the study.

Lastly, the argument states many undescriptive claims. The author states “This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study.” But the author does not mention who “our” is referring to. It could be scientists that conducted this study, but it could also be high school students. Because the argument fails to address this issue, the argument holds to be less valid.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to believe that the decline in headaches in Mentia is due to an increased usage of salicylates.