Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions that lead him to believe the study conducted and previously “unhealthy” lifestyles are accurate representations of the healthy trends seen today in Benton City. Concluding that Benton will illustrate a decline in obesity rates based on the prior stated assumptions is unreasonable.

Firstly, the arguer fails to provide evidence to support the study that was conducted by the city. To start, the argument does not mention what population was included in the sample size of the study. It may be that the researchers only subsumed households of those who made healthier eating choices in the first place. If the study ignored randomization of the population or did not encompass all of the residents of Benton, this could render the study unreliable since there is not sufficient data to claim that eating habits of all city residents resemble more closely to those of nutritional recommendations. On the other hand, if the author presented statistics and prove that demonstrated the study conducted included all citizens of Benton, the argument would hold to be more plausible. In either case, the argument still does not mention any specifics of the process of the survey conducted.

Continuing, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine there is a method to prove that the surveys taken were completely credible, it is still baseless to conclude obesity rates will decrease. What the author also implies is that all factors revolving around nutritional recommendations by the government in the past mirrors the ones of today. There is a possibility that ten years ago the nutritional recommendations set out by the government included a high sugar and fat diet. For this reasoning, the citizens could have chosen to not take part in such eating habits leading the arguer to believe the residents strayed away from recommendations. But this shows that not conforming to governmental recommendations does not necessarily mean the people of Benton were unhealthy eaters. However, if the author shed light on the nutritional recommendations ten years ago, the argument would prove to be more just. But even so, the types of eating habits in the past is not explained by the argument.

Lastly, the argument is built upon undescriptive statements. For example, the author states “Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles.” But the other does not expand on their definition of “healthy.” It is possible that a “healthier lifestyle” for the arguer includes less consumption of pork based on personal religious beliefs. This argument would not hold up if it based on scientific facts. It cannot be guaranteed the meaning of healthier lifestyle so it cannot actually be concluded that the residents of Benton are eating healthier.

As a result of the various unwarranted assumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to suggest that obesity rates will surely drop.