Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author claims that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average. To support the conclusion, he cites various evidences such as the decline in sulia sales, increase in food that contains Kiran. Although these evidences appear to bolster the author's argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the following specific evidences.

First of all, the author has not presented the statistics regarded with the number of people who have adopted the food habits recommended by the government. Perhaps, the number of people who have changed the food habits is a small portion of the Benton City residents. If this is the case, the it would be specious to reach into the author's conclusion. One the other hand, it is possible that even if the residents are following the government nutritional guideline, it is possible that they are following the guideline in a wrong way. For example, a same medicine that may brought different outcome if that is taken with milk or with water. Similarly, it is possible that although they are close, they are following it incorrectly. If this is the case, the water doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the author has assumed that sales of sulia, has declined dramatically, however, he has not provided any clue about whether this sulia is scientifically proven hazardous to human health or not. Additionally, it is possible that, even if this sulia is dangerous to human health and the sale are dramatically declined, people may have started to consume other food abundantly that is deleterious to human health. For example, if in the same city, the sales of sugar were increased largely, then how the author can predict the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average? So without the specific data on sugar and other perilous food consumption, it would be unreasonable to admit the author's conclusion.

In conclusion, it is possible that the prediction will become true. However, as it stands now, the author's argument is based on two unfounded assumptions that render the author's argument unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, in order to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the specific evidences on these above two fronts.