The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on foundationless assumptions that the duration of the established company is sufficient to measure success, cereal and other food products will have identical outcomes and other factors have not played a role in the success of Bargain Brand Cereals.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support that the company of Bargain Brands will proceed in the same trend as their initial success. A year ago, Bargain Brands launched their first breakfast cereal at a low price, and it has been a popular product amongst the population. The author assumes that no changes will occur to the environment that would demonstrate a decline in the selling of Bargain Brands cereals. It could be that the year their cereal product was released, it was the only new cereal in the market, making it more appealing to the public. Then, because of its fresh appeal to the population, it could be that the rates of cereal sold were high for this reason. It still cannot be guaranteed that the rate of cereal products being sold will remain constant after the cereal has been on the market for a longer time. On the other hand, if the author presented evidence that the company was still thriving a couple years from now, the argument would be more plausible. In either case, customer preference is not mentioned.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine in a couple years Bargain Brands cereal is still flourishing and customer likings lean towards Bargain Brands, it is still unjust to conclude other Bargain Brands food products will also illustrate the same success as their cereal. It could be possible that the ingredients subsumed in the cereal is the top-rated in the area for cereals, which led to the popularization of Bargain Brands cereal. This necessarily does not mean other food products will have an identical outcome. However, if Bargain Brands considers popular ingredients for every food product they launch, then the argument will hold more validity. But even then, it cannot be surely said that the food products will also mirror the success as the cereal.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to prove the release of other food products will mirror the success seen by the cereal products of Bargain Brands.