Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The question if the past can help people make important decisions today is an intricate one. Some believe we are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both and thus the past cannot help people make important decisions today. However, knowing about the past can help people learn from mistakes and expand on existing knowledge leading them to make important decisions in the present day.

First, the past illustrates err that does not have to be necessarily repeated once an individual learns about it. Take into consideration the holocaust led by Adolf Hitler in Germany. The unethical events and practices that occurred during that era is taught in all schools in the United States today. The idea behind teaching the children of today about the genocide of Jewish people that happened in the past is to share the history but also to introduce them to ethics and teach the immoral practices that have been used in the past. By illustrating the unfortunate happenings of the past for these children, it aids in learning about ethics. In schools, the past is used to teach about practices that are presently forbidden, like the genocide of certain individuals based on their outward appearance or personal beliefs. Teaching the past is beneficial because it allows for certain errors to come to light and ensures the same errors will not be made again.

Furthermore, learning about the past helps build upon existing knowledge. For example, the Rutherford experiment concluded the spatial arrangement of subatomic particles stating protons and neutrons are found at the core of an atom, whereas electrons are found in a cloud around the atom. This discovery added to the learning of subatomic particles, atoms and the interaction between each other, leading to other important theories and models. One such existing model is the Bohr Model which draws out the arrangement of subatomic particles in an atom for others to physically perceive and understand how these particles are arranged around each other. Theories and models like these broaden understanding and break down complex ideas for others. These ideas can then be set as a foundation for other arising scientific questions and aid in the expansion of even further complicated ideas. If a problem today included the knowledge of the basic knowledge of spatial arrangement of subatomic particles, it is accessible for use and move forward with the issue. In other words, the theories discovered in the past can help us understand the mechanism of a certain subject and allow us to expand on basic knowledge to help us further solve an issue.

Though those that argue that the past cannot directly be experienced in the present so it is an inaccurate representation of history has valid points, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. Learning about the past aids us in learning from mistakes and expanding our knowledge. Thus, learning about the past can help us make important decisions of today.