The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the evidence offered to argue the main claims of the argument are not as cogent as they appear. The author ignores factors that could also show an increase level of cortisol. Concluding that other elements do not play a role in the perceived increased levels of the cortisol hormone and the sole reason for this increase is due to the factor that these individuals are firstborn is unreasonable.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidence to support that high levels of cortisol seen in the stimulated situations in the study is because those monkeys are firstborn. There could be other aspects of their lives that could show this result. For example, the monkeys that were firstborn in the study could have had traumatic experiences with unfamiliar monkeys early on in their lives. If one of these monkeys had engaged in a fight with an unknown monkey which led him to obtaining many life-threatening injuries, then this experience could be the reason why the body of this specific individual is being primed for increased activity and showing increased levels of cortisol. They might be preparing for self-defense and the cortisol increase could be triggered by the past experience. This means the increased hormone level is not because the monkey was the firstborn but instead because of past trauma which would render the results as unreliable. On the other hand, if the monkeys in the study were born in captivity and no trauma was experienced by any, then the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, it cannot be surely stated that the reason for the high cortisol levels seen in these monkeys is only because they were born first in a family.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine all monkeys were born and raised in captivity with no experiences with trauma, it is still baseless to conclude that high cortisol levels perceived in pregnant monkeys were due to the fact they were first-time mothers. So, the author continues to speculate other aspects of one’s life is not impacting the results. For instance, if a mother is overweight and obese, then movement and daily activity could show an incline of cortisol in the body. Because this mother already uses lots of energy for everyday activities and now is using more energy to move around, the body must be primed for increased activity. But now if this same mother loses weight and is no longer obese after her first pregnancy then the other pregnancies would show lower levels of cortisol. If this is the case, then the conclusion is unjust because it did not take into account this extra aspect of one’s lifestyle. However, if the argument shed light on the physical and physiological factors of the mothers, then the argument would hold more validity. But even so, it is difficult to consider all differing factors of every monkey’s life.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author is unsuccessful in compiling a compelling case to create a correlation between being firstborn and high cortisol levels.