We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The question of where the most learning can occur is an interesting one. Some believe we learn much more from those who have shared views as us. However, because learning is more efficient when mistakes and opposing views are taken into consideration, learning occurs from those views that contradict our own.

First, learning occurs more effectively when mistakes, either our own or others, are made. Take into consideration the holocaust in Germany. For the majority, the views of Hitler are perceived as cruel and unethical. But at that time the majority of the population in Germany had similar ideals. Today in the United States, we can look into the past and reject such harsh views. The history of the holocaust and Hitler are still taught today to remind others what should never be repeated. From the past and views that do not stand in line with our own, we can make sure history does not repeat itself. Moreover, segregation and slavery are forbidden in the United States today. But not that long ago, these practices were widely accepted compared to now, where they are rejected. In schools, children are often informed of these practices to ensure they will not be allowed again. Once again, older ideals that oppose modern ideals are taught to the younger generation for learning purposes.

Furthermore, learning views that contradict views of one can allow for a more holistic view. Take into consideration the coronavirus pandemic of 2020. Currently the reopening of government and country is a controversial topic. Those with professions in medicine and science urge the government to refrain from opening the country to prevent the spread of the virus. On the other hand, those in social services may have mixed feelings. Social workers are discussing how victims are in lockdown with their abusers and worried about the incline in domestic violence, depression and suicide. Though these differing sides do contradict each other, each has legitimate reasonings to believe so. Learning contradictory views can aid in understanding a bigger picture.

Finally, some may argue that learning can be expanded when learning through ideals that you coincide with more, which will lead to greater understanding. Though this may be true, it does not outweigh the opposing argument. Learning is enhanced when taught through mistakes, which makes for a more well-rounded approach. Thus, learning views that contradict your own broadens the learning approach.