As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The question of if acquiring more knowledge opens a door to more questions or understanding is an intricate one. Some believe in the act of obtaining additional knowledge, issues become more complex and mysterious. However, expanding knowledge leads to increased comprehensibility.

First, acquiring more knowledge leads to a greater understanding on a subject and expands background. For example, think about the Rutherford experiment. The conclusion from this experiment was that positively charged subatomic particles (protons) and neutrally charged subatomic particles (neutrons) are the core of an atom and the negatively charged subatomic particles (electrons) are in a cloud around the core. This pioneering discovery became the foundation of models of the atom and led scientists to understand the orientation of atoms in space to a greater extent. Because of the Rutherford experiment, other scientists were able to build upon it and generate their own models, including the famous Bohr model of the atom which illustrates the spatial arrangement of these subatomic particles. From this, it can be seen that this discovery did not lead to more questions, it instead opened another door of possibilities of understanding.

Furthermore, clearing confusion of a topic can aid in strengthening knowledge. Take into consideration the holocaust in Germany led by Hitler. This unfortunate and unethical event is taught in schools in the United States today. For one, it is to educate the youth of the past but also to ensure history does not repeat itself. By explaining this practice through books and movies, children learn what events occurred in this time and what a minority in an area had to endure. For instance, the popular book of Anna Frank’s Diary is used as a teaching tool in many schools. By reading Frank’s experiences, kids are able to place themselves into her shoes and imagine what it must have felt like to be a Jewish kid in such a scary era. Instead of leading to confusion, these events are taught to individuals to build knowledge of the past.

Finally, some may argue that instead knowledge leads to increasing confusions and complex issues. Hypothetically, when a scientist is doing research, he is led by a question an initial question that he bases his experiment on. Once a result is obtained, the conclusion could give an indefinite answer, causing the scientist to ask another question and do another experiment. Although this is true, the initial experiment led him to an inconclusive answer and more mystery, he has also added understanding of what the answer can or cannot be. So, in actuality, he has taken a step forward and opened a door of possibilities instead of standing in the same spot. Thus, he has acquired more knowledge.

Though obtaining additional knowledge could lead to increased complexity, it does not mean that understanding is unchanged and confusion is not cleared. Therefore, as we acquire more knowledge, things do become more comprehensible.