Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The question of which is a more valuable asset: experience or imagination, is an intricate one. Some believe imagination holds more value than experience and allows for experience through imagination. However, experience is the more valuable asset because it allows for additional learning and a more accurate representation of complex topics.

First, making mistakes by doing something enhances learning. Take into consideration the synthesis of a vaccine of a new virus. The mechanism of the virus has to be understood in order to make a working vaccine. Scientists use their knowledge of the virus and try to produce a vaccine that fights off the virus. However, if the virus is new, not many aspects of it are understood, so trial and error is used to generate a vaccine. Once an individual produces a potential vaccine, it is then tested. If it does not show the intended results then the individual will start again but now they have this additional information of what process is working and what is not because of this trial and error process. Thus, experiencing error gives route to broaden one’s knowledge and learning.

Furthermore, experience aids in creating a more accurate representation of specific subjects. Imagine, a teenager who has been rollerblading their entire life and now has a pioneering idea of going ice skating for the first time. Because he has grown up rollerblading, he is able to understand the motion of skating and can apply this knowledge to ice skating. He is aware of how to go, stop and even knows the pain of falling while skating, the only new factor he has to consider is ice. But even so, he has sufficient information to understand the specifics of ice skating because he has previously rollerbladed which has allowed him to create a picture of skating in his mind. So, because of his prior knowledge, he is able to create a fairly accurate representation of ice skating.

Finally, some may argue that there are existing circumstances that cannot physically be experience and so instead have to be imagined. For instance, take the events of the holocaust. The unethical genocide of the Jewish people cannot be experienced today and instead are taught in school through movies and books to children. Although, this is true, it is also true that these past experiences of individuals who lived through that harsh era are documented and remade to be taught. These experiences do not merely come from fictional thought, they do hold truth and legitimacy. So, even though certain circumstances like this cannot be experienced, it is still taught as accurately as can be to convey the events as accurately as possible.

Though there are valid reasons to believe imagination holds more value than experience, these claims do not outweigh the opposing side. Learning through error by experiment allows for the expansion of knowledge and creates a more truthful picture. Therefore, experience is a more superior asset when compared to imagination.