If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The question of to what limit are means justifiable to reach a specific goal is a complex one. Some believe any path taken to reach a certain goal is completely justified. However, if a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are not justifiable because there are disparate meanings of worthy to different individuals and this practice can lead to corruption.

First, one’s idea of what goal is worthy enough to be justified by any action differ from another. For example, during the era of the holocaust, Hitler and his followers strongly believed performing a genocide of a specific kind of people was for the greater good of society and was not morally unjust. Hitler practiced many unethical acts to Jewish individuals because they were the minority and had an appearance that was unfamiliar to him and others. In his perspective, he was committing such cruel murders of Jewish people to make a more perfect race of humans. So, in other words, he thought the practices he partook in were justified because in his eyes the end goal was worthy enough to kill people to reach. Now, we can see how wrong his idea of worthy truly is and the means he took to attain his main goal were not justified by his unethical acts. This shows everyone’s concept of a worthy goal is different and not every action one takes part in can be justified.

Furthermore, giving people the power to decide what is an acceptable goal could lead to creating corrupt leaders. Take into consideration the president Kim Jong Un of South Korea. Un runs his country on the basis of dictatorship. The citizens of South Korea have no voice in any decision Un makes for their country and are brainwashed into worshipping their leader. Social media, television and the internet are censored and filtered by the government to only subsume content that is approved by their president. The population of South Korea actually does not know accurate information regarding events occurring in the world or even their own leader. President Un is given a plethora of power and he abuses his power to make decisions that are mainly beneficial for him. If an individual like Kim Jong Un decides what goals are worthy enough to forgive any action, then this individual can too abuse this power. Thereby, giving an abundance of power to one can cause the abuse and corruption of power.

Finally, some may argue that there are positive goals that are advantageous to others that can be justified. For instance, if a scientist aims to find a cure for cancer to make the impossible possible and he takes illegal measures to do so, they should be forgiven because he is trying to help the community. Although this may be true, this scientist can also commit unethical acts like injecting an individual with potential antibodies that could save them without the consent of the patient and the injected patient could end up dying. This is only one example where an individual with good intentions for the world can cause damage or harm to others by justifying his actions as worthy.

Though the side believing any means taken to attain a worthy goal should be justified had valid reasons, these claims do not outweigh the opposing view. People have a different perception of what worthy is to them and giving additional powers to decide worthiness of a goal could lead to corruption. Thus, not all actions are justified by a worthy goal.