Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

centuries, scientists are working tirelessly in the laboratories. Even when the research work didn’t reach a systematic laboratory-like approach, people used to apply thought process in order to enhance the way of working, which gave us the gifts of fire or wheel. Many of these researches never yielded their intended outcome, while some of them actually achieved the goals. However, there are indeed a few that went in a completely different direction, with the researcher, to his utter surprise, finding something that have proved quite useful in the history of mankind, but was never even dreamt of.

Otherwise what shall we call the discovery of some of the great medicines of all time – including penicillin, insulin, quinine, or even Viagra? Saccharine was discovered when the scientists were actually doing some chemical researches, forgot to wash hands, and found everything they touch with their hands taste sweet. They patented Sachharine which was a big deal during the world wars, as a replacement of sugar. Even microwaves, radioactivity or LSD fall into this serendipitous category of great accidental inventions.

We all know, Wilhelm Roentgen discovered X-rays when he was experimenting with cathode ray tubes. He saw some rays leaking out of the container, and when he tried to put his hands to stop that emission, he clearly saw is bones are visible in the screen next to his hands.

It is said that Tea, the most widespread beverage in the world, was discovered by a Chinese emperor. He sat under a tree after an arduous day of travel, and served with some hot water. Suddenly a few leaves from the tree fell into the water, and when the emperor drank it, he had very refreshing feeling.

Viagra, originally intended to be a heart remedy, was found quite ineffective for heart patients, but those used it reported an increased erectile function. When experimented with this new objective, it has found to heal many patients with erectile dysfunction.

So it’s indeed agreeable to the original assertion that many discoveries were actually accidents, and not as per the originally followed plans. Still, they have made a huge difference in the world of mnkind.