Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

I the given note, the author presents his opinion that we should go back to the service of Buzoff, which was serving Palm City earlier and still continues to serve Wintervale warehouse. The justification given here is, Palm City’s food damage due to pest, is higher, in dollar value, compared to Wintervale. Author mentions that Fly-Away’s service charges are considerably lower than Buzzoff, but is hopeful that the pest damage is much more compared to the benefit of reduced service charges.

The assertion seems quite justified until scrutinized in depth. Firstly, the pet damage accounts for $20,000 in Palm City where Fly-Away is providing the pest control services, whereas it’s only $10,000 in Wintervale where the vendor is Buzoff. The note never mentions the apparent size of the two warehouses. Just in case, Palm City is much larger compared to Wintervale, the damage at Palm City may be only 2% whereas it may be 20% for Wintervale. In that case, it becomes obvious that Fly-Away is doing a commendable job only in their first year of service, although the lost may be much higher in Palm City in terms of absolute dollar value.

Secondly, Palm City’s services are cheaper, and that saves some cost. The savings made through this, should be combined with the loss due to pest damage, before any comparison can be made. It can so happen that the savings in service cost outweighs the loss due to pest damage.

Also, the note doesn’t mention how Buzzoff had been doing at Palm City in the previous years before Fly-Away replaced them. It is important to know the average pest damage per year in previous years of service by Buzz off, and then compare that with the current year’s loss when Fly-Away is the vendor. Only that can make a cogent and veritable comparison based on which such an important decision can be made.

Finally, Fly-Away is only one year in the service, and may be going through some teething problems in the initial period. Buzzoff being an incumbent, it knows the nuances of the job and, therefore, ius expected to do a better job. It makes sense to allow Fly-Away to continue for at least one more years before taking any decision to remove them from the pest control service and reinstate Buzzoff.