"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

The argument claims that signing a contract with Buzzoff is a better option than Fly-Away for the company’s pest control services because recently damages at the warehouse managed by Buzzoff is less than the other by Fly-Away. It sounds reasonable at first glance since the real loss amounts are cited, yet a closer examination of the argument reveals flawed assumptions resulting from weak or false reasoning.

To begin with, the argument claims that Buzzoff is a better pest control company with the comparison of the destroyed amount of food in the dollar at two warehouses managed by two different pest control companies, Buzzoff and Fly-Away. However, simply comparing two absolute values of losses may not be a piece of strong evidence unless the detailed circumstances of the two warehouses were given. Before making a conclusion, there are a few questions should be asked.

What are the ratios of destroyed food to the total stocks in each warehouse? If the warehouse in Palm City stored over $100,000 worth of food and the one in Wintervale stored only $30,000, Buzzoff is doing a better job than Fly-Away. What types of food is stored in two warehouses? Because a particular type of food attracts pest more than other types, the food type should be identified before the decision. Additionally, the conditions of the two warehouses need to be considered. There may be many other factors rather than which pest control company maintains which warehouse. It could be that the warehouse in Palm City had been built long before the one in Wintervale or the environmental situation of Palm City makes the pest control job harder than Wintervale. Unless all these factors are taken into account, the decision may be skewed.

Moreover, the passage states that the company recently made a new contract with Fly-Away. Thus, we don’t know how long the new pest control company has managed the company warehouse and the duration is not long enough to evaluate the performance of a new service provider.

In sum, lacking concrete and appealing evidence, the author’s board conclusion about Buzzoff is the better option for the company’s pest control services is dubious. In order to substantiate the claim, the author should look into factors that the overall circumstances of both warehouses and two different cities, the reasonable duration for the service evaluation for both providers.