A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

In the passage, the author cited that Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program to reduce heart disease. At first glance, the assumption may seem right but this statement is flawed as the author failed to provide necessary shreds of evidence to corroborate his/her statement.

First and foremost, the author stated a recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. So, the author assumed that making a partnership with animal shelter would help to reduce heart disease. This statement is flawed as it is based on an unclear study. The author didn’t mention any data relating to the study. It failed to provide information like when did the study take place or where did the study take place or who was the subject. These questions are unanswered in the passage. The study maybe took place with a small group of people or people who have pets. We can not be sure about the authenticity of the study from the passage. If the author would provide the necessary statement to advocate his/her statement then the assumption might be right.

Further, the author assumed that by collaborating with Animal shelter the program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chances of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. This assumption may seem right but there’s a glut of facts that are not clear from the passage. There are no data in the passage that can prove the fact that having a pet can reduce further heart disease treatment. Moreover, some people are allergic to dogs. So they won’t consider having a dog as a pet. Additionally, there’s a slew of reasons behind heart disease like bad food habits, smoking, genetic history. There’s a chance that making partnership with Animal Shelter would be as fruitful as assumed. So the assumption that encouraging people to have dogs as pets will reduce heart disease in the general population seems unwarranted without proper pieces of evidence.

Furthermore, the author assumed that by making a partnership with Animal Shelter, it would be publicity for them by encouraging more people to adopt pets from Animal Shelter. This assumption lacked to prove the point due to the paucity of evidence. There could be a chance that the public would purchase pets from another shelter or the people in that area already have enough pets.

To sum up, the assumption made by the author will be lost its strength without proper evidence.