68.A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument explains that the ownership of dogs leads to a lower possibility of heart disease, and patients who are in the process of recovering from heart diseases will benefit from the adoption of dogs. Also, it argues that the adoption program will encourage the community to adopt more pets. However, these issues are not sound and will need further evidence to support them.

First of all, the relationship between taking care of a dog and becoming a victim of a heart disease is not transparent. To further explain this relationship the author should provide additional information such as "dog owners tend to have a lower heart disease rate due to the stimulation of chemical signals inside the body when interacting with their pets". On the contrary, the passage does not provide any such supporting detail, and the low possibility of a heart attack may be the result from the fact that dog owners are usually young people whom obviously has a lower chance of getting cardinal diseases. Consequently, the author should elaborate more on the relationship between dog care and heart illnesses.

Next, even though owning a dog helps you to prevent cardinal illness, it isn't sufficient to argue that it will also help cure those diseases. For instance, even though the interaction with the dog makes the owner's body emit disease preventing material, the material will be no use once the body has become ill. Therefore, it is hasty to assert that adopting dogs will lead to an abridged treatment of a disease.

Finally, it would not be logical to assume that the publicity of a program will lead to increased adaptation rates, especially from the shelter. Even though the program is advertised and promulgated, it may not catch people's interests because the public may think that they have nothing to do with cardinal disease and thus overlook the advertisements. In addition, the program is about adopting dogs while the passage asserts that people will adopt more animals in general, especially from shelters, which is a rash generalization. For example, although the adaptation rates of dogs may increase, people will tend to ignore cats or birds. Also, the public might have a perception that animals from the shelter are less hygienic and will prefer adopting dogs from pet shops instead of shelters. Hence, there should be additional information that links the relationship between the publicity of a program and the adaptation rate of animals from the shelter.

In conclusion, the passage fails to prove that dogs will lead to a lower heart illness rate, and that adaptation of it will accelerate the cure of those diseases. Also, it needs to elaborate upon whether the promulgation of these adaptation programs will lead to lost animals finding new homes