We can usually learn much more from people whose views we

share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Schools have been trying to facilitate a more interactive learning environment since it is believed that it provides a more effective learning environment. And debate classes have been established to facilitate this process. When we have a conversation with people who possess different ideas from us, we may be enlightened and our views may be broadened.

First of all, if we just share ideas with people who share similar thoughts, then we may be hindered from being refreshed, and our thoughts may be stagnated. However, by sharing ideas with people who have contradictory ideas, we may be refreshed because of the new possibilities we may discover from the interaction. For instance, an advocate of a free compulsory education may find some fallacies about the policy, such as limited funding, while talking to an advocate of noncompulsory education. On the other side, if the advocate of free compulsory education has limited interaction with people possessing opposing views, he or she will not be able to grasp the pitfalls of their argument. Rather, by talking to people with similar opinions, they might get blinded by their common idea because they only try to see the bright side. In this case, everybody getting a fair chance to study. Therefore, it is important that people share ideas with not only the proposition, but also the opposition.

However, this process of arguing and debating may cause stress which may debilitate the learning environment. Students may get discouraged and will lose the spirit to engage in learning. For example, if students debate whether climate warming is a serious problem and if a particular side has a much more organized and persuasive arguments, the students on the other side may not want to argue anymore because it is evident that they lost the debate. Therefore in some cases, sharing ideas with contradictory views may involve stress which leads to worse learning conditions.

In conclusion, sharing ideas helps you to think in a broader way and may enlighten you to think about new ideas which helps you to learn. Nevertheless, it also has some pitfalls that it may dishearten students to learn.