We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Since the dawn of humanity, people have always been struggling with contrasting aspects of social life entailing debates and discussions over different topics. In this vein, people have always expressed their ideas using tools from scholar gatherings in the past to opinion dissemination through social media in the contemporary era. While a proportion of people maintain that individuals are more likely to learn from like-minded counterparts, I hold a different view, believing that people with colliding views possess more valuable details to share. This essay will explore a couple of reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, constant exposure to contradicting opinions provides people with a notable opportunity to be able to be aware of invisible aspects of their own perspective. To put it in other words, people who are debating are individuals that exhibit a vast array of contrasting human qualities. Thus, they own distinct views and exploit various ways to approach a single topic. Therefore, it would be much beneficial to learn about other people’s reasons for holding a view since it can help people to know other aspects of their thoughts. For instance, religious people can attain a deeper outlook towards their viewpoints while discussing with biology and medical researchers. In fact, they will know more about the effects of their religious rituals on their health and lifestyle.

Secondly, regarding the fact that discussing a preferred subject with its opponents could be significantly challenging, people will search more to gain a solid body of knowledge in order to be able to answer all the questions about it. This can be very advantageous for the fact that people will learn more from diverse sources from old books in the deep parts of libraries to a wide variety of eBooks, articles and other teaching materials on the Internet. Hence, they would regularly evaluate their beliefs and update their information through which they can gain knowledge about other things, too. Consequently, they can make progress via a sophisticated, systematic and logical process which has copious offers and gifts.

From another perspective, having shared a profound and rooted base of beliefs, it could be likely to learn from like-minded people much easier. To be more specific, people who share a converging school of thought usually have built their opinions using the same materials and have way too much in common. Thus, it could be easier to understand the other one’s point of view deeply and learn and remember it effortlessly. Besides, it is always pleasant to be acknowledged by other fellows and be encouraged and praised to have an elaborated viewpoint. As a result, it is somewhat rewarding to debate with people whose views we share.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I assume that people are more likely to learn from counterparts who have contradicting views compared to them. Not only will this help them to find the flaws of their own perspective and have competent attitudes, but it also can help them to enhance their knowledge to be able to answer all the challenging questions. However, having discussion with people whose views are similar to us can be worthwhile to some extent, too.