Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of available sources of entertainment one of which is television. While a number of people assume that the television has more negative impacts than positive effects on young people’s behavior, I hold a different view, believing that its merits outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will explore a couple of reasons for my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, due to the fact that programs and movies are under the surveillance of the government, they would follow several strict regulations in the sense of their content. Thus, the movies and programs aired on the television contain fewer anti-value and harsh scenes and a larger quantity of practical and valuable information. For instance, there are a proportion of programs including documentaries that have been devised to instruct people a vast array of contrasting human qualities and features of the surrounding environment. Therefore, young adults are provided with a considerable amount of beneficial information that they can exploit them in their daily life. For example, I am looking forward to watching an extremely noteworthy documentary on Mondays on television. This is a program in which the announcer interviews various people who have committed the crime and challenges them with diverse questions. While watching the program, I try to respond to the questions from my point of view to comprehend the flaws that I own in my personality, which could drive me towards a considerably incorrect way. Hence, challenging myself during the time I take to watch this program, I could gain a more mature outlook towards my life.

Secondly, the majority of movies demonstrated on television entail a valuable storyline following a particular virtue to display. To put it in other words, movies usually are about a desired kind of morality that is in the absence or close to the breakdown in the current conditions of the society. Therefore, should adolescents take time and watch them, they will realize that they ought to pay more attention to that specific virtue and try to protect it. For example, the growing number of divorces ensued by cheating in my country, pushed the directors and authors to make movies to value the loyalty and remind people of the degradation and approaching complete loss of this special ethic. Therefore, being provided with a wide variety of high-level movies conveying remarkable human virtues, youngsters are able to understand them and the results of putting them aside on their personal lives and even communities.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I cling to this view that television is more likely to have a constructive influence on youngsters rather than negative effects. Not only are there a handful of substantially profitable programs including documentaries, but there also are movies designed to convey pieces of certain virtues to the youth.