Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of humanity, people have confronted various dilemmas and have to make decisions to cope with them. From good locations to build as shelters and what to eat to more complex decisions like which job to choose are placed in this category. Although everything has become more intricate in today's society, I believe that nowadays young people are more dependent on themselves to make decisions than the past. This essay will explore some of the reasons for my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, development of technology has led to an increase in the number of situations in which young people have to make decisions, but it also has provided special implements for them to get the information they need more easily than the past. In today's data-driven world, there are a lot of technologies that can help people in non-identical ways. I think a personal example can shed some light on this issue. A couple of years ago, I had to make the decision about the major that I was to study at university; thus, I need to know more about different jobs. My parents did not have enough information about every single job and the qualifications that I need to be successful in that particular field. Therefore, I decided to go online and check the details of all the plausible jobs. Thanks to the virtually limitless resources of the information offered by the new technologies, I could find much useful information about different jobs and therefore my dream job.

Secondly, improvement of the scientific approaches and the high degree of psychology proficiency of the experts in the recent century has offered young people many opportunities facilities to have a better interpretation of their own social behavior, which can help them to make better decisions on their own compared to the past. Youngsters are people who exhibit contrasting human qualities according to which they need different advice regarding their social behavior. Thus, by asking for help to have a better knowledge over their personality, they would be able to make correct decisions for their lives. Parents cannot provide their children with this knowledge. Back to my own experience for choosing a proper job, I called a counselor and asked his help for making the right decision. He explained about the diverse aspects of the special jobs that I had chosen and helped me to understand my abilities and personal preferences. Then, I could decide my major according to the new information that I had about myself. My parents could never help me to know this much about myself, and thus, they were not able to guide me towards the correct way.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that people are more dependent on themselves to make decisions than past. Not only can they exploit the contributions of the technology including the Internet and social media, but they also can enlist the aid of professional experts rather than their parents.