The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres.

"Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and housepainting."

In this letter, the author proposes an idea to increase property values in Deerhaven based on previous experience in Brookville. According to the author, since established regulations in Brookville about adorning yards and painting the exteriors of homes ensued by a rise in the average property values in Brookville, it would be a perfect solution to exploit in order to increase the property values in Deerhaven, too. However, the mentioned analogy is wanting in several aspects.

First of all, the increase in the value of houses in Brookville does not necessarily refer to the adopted restrictions. There could be a handful of other major reasons for the abrupt raise after the restrictions. For example, a couple of recreational projects could be started back at the time the community adopted the new rules. New pastime opportunities will attract more people and please the current residents according to which they would be convinced to stay rooted in their hometown and avoid migration. Besides, new infrastructure opportunities including railways, airports, secure roads and so forth can propel the growth of property value in a city. Thus, the author made his or her claim based on a quivering assumption.

Secondly, there are always conditions that can lead to specific results for a part of a country. To be more specific, a change in the value of the currency or the lack of construction materials resources somewhere near a region will affect the contrasting aspects of building a house. For instance, there might be a sudden plummet in the amount of iron or timber materials which resulted in an immediate growth in the value of houses. Furthermore, there might be an increase in the value of fuels for carrying the materials from other towns, too. As a result, there are other possibilities from diverse viewpoints for the rapid growth of the property values in Brookville, which could have nothing to do with the proposed legislation.

Thirdly, the author does not provide any reliable proof for his or her claim about the significant influences of novel regulations in Brookville. In fact, he or she fails to draw an authentic and solid relationship between his or her two sides of the comparison. The fact that some ventures had a particular outcome in one region serves no compelling reason to be successful in other areas, too. To put it simply, people of Brookville can possess distinct tastes in the appearance of their houses and might welcome the new rules. On the other hand, people of Deerhaven, might prefer some other features and have nothing in common with each other in taste and preference.

In conclusion, although the author’s suggestion may seem reasonable at first glance, it lacks significant extra information to be convincing enough. If he or she presented other data entailing the overall changes and improvements in the town since the restrictions have started, it could be more compelling. Otherwise, he or she did not consider other possible reasons for the phenomenon he or she explained.