Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the required sciences corresponding to the new needs of societies, which in turn needs more educated people. While some people believe that it is important for students to learn facts, I strongly cling to this idea that they should learn ideas and concepts. This essay will explore a couple of reasons for my perspective through the following paragraphs.

First of all, comprehending the main ideas will provide students with wider aspects of principals and facts. They will know more about the origins and basis of a particular fact, which in turn would help them to understand and keep it in mind for a long time. I think a personal example will shed some light on this statement. A couple of years ago, I studied structural analysis course at university, but I only learnt the main facts and passed the exam with a good score. After a while, I started to work in a company where I was expected to do the structural analysis with a full comprehension about the structural behavior of a special bridge. Soon I became aware that I did not remember the main principals of the course because I did not learn how to think about a structure beyond the written facts in my notebook. If I had studied with a wider understanding of the concepts of the facts then, I would be a better engineer now.

Secondly, to know the sources and the original thoughts of a particular fact would help students to learn more about the correct thinking procedure and the ways of finding good solutions for their problems. Learning some approaches that great scientists exploited to reach their goals are good incentives for students to be more creative and try to find explanations for a couple of unsolved problems in their scientific parties, their professional fields or even their personal lives. Therefore, creativity and the ability to solve various problems are the key factors that will be attained if students learn the basic concepts and ideas of the facts they learn.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account , I believe that it would be more helpful for students to pay more attention to the main concepts than to the facts. Not only will this approach help them to understand and remember the facts that they have learnt, but also will provide them with a useful personal skill that is the skill of ways of problem solving.