In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

If death is a finish line, that line has continually moved farther and farther away over the past century. It means that the newer generation is living, on the average, more than the past generations. I believe that several factors have led to these longer life-spans of the new generation. This essay will explore some of the aforementioned factors.

The first reason why people live longer now is that they are more concerned about their health. Thanks to the higher education availability, widespread Internet and of course media, the new generation is more clued-up about healthy diets and considerable effects of a sport-based lifestyle. On the other hand, various healthy food types provided on the shelves of shopping centers and different sporting equipment for all sorts of bodies with diverse tastes and body goals are a gift of the recent century to people who want not only to be healthy but also happy. Therefore, people these days, pay more attention to their lifestyle and as a result, they have healthier bodies with fewer diseases.

To distinguish how it is possible for people to have longer life-spans, the second reason is that medical sciences have improved a lot over the past century. In the past, people would suffer and die from a huge number of diseases which have already been eradicated. Besides, keeping to personal hygiene have become more necessary in new dense societies and this makes individuals less prone to different diseases. In fact, development of technology and consequently the medical devices, variation and higher quality of drugs, the better understanding of body organs and tracts and the way they work and plenty of other reasons join together to give people a higher quality of life.

On the whole, in the century of cutting-edge science and technology with lots of new offers for a healthier and more peaceful life as well as advanced medical cares for distinct types of illnesses, where scientists are trying to find super extended life-span or even elixir of immortality, this is not impossible for people to live longer.