The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that it has become a more important form of documentation than written records.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of forms of documentation regarding contemporary life events. While a proportion of people maintain that written records provide a much reliable document, I hold a different view, believing that camera records are more precise in portraying the real modern life. This essay will explore a couple of reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, considering that video cameras record the real states of feelings and sentiments, they are more successful in documenting peoples’ true lives. To be more specific, it is much easier to comprehend someone’s true feelings from anger to happiness via their gestures and face mimics portrayed in a movie. On the other hand, there is always a significant amount of personal perception while writing about people’s acts and talks, which can lead readers to unjust presumptions. Therefore, in order to transform the true state of events in life, it would be more beneficial to exploit videos rather than articles.

Secondly, several details and nuances that an author could perceive peripheral are straightforwardly demonstrated in a video recording. Thus, people are free to pay attention to these little things or not. While a writer could assume that a particular type of furniture is not substantial enough to be mentioned, a viewer could find it of high interest and a remarkable sign of a certain characteristic of its owner. Hence, watching a film, people are exposed to more details from the person or occurrence they are investigating. However, reading a written document can offer people an eclectic set of writer’s preferences about that character or act.

From another point of view, written records could possess distinct advantages in comparison with videos. For instance, articles, papers, and books usually are more intransigent compared to films since they are recorded once, and it is not trouble-free to add new parts to a written and printed document. Thus, they could be more reputable sources to retain the promises or contracts. However, considering the cutting-edge technology in the recent century, it is virtually effortless to change a film or even make an apocryphal one. Besides, the CD or DVD compacts are immensely vulnerable to environmental conditions, and they could be impaired and inaccessible easily in the long run, which can result in losing extremely significant documents.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that video records are more meticulous means of documenting events compared to written materials. Not only are they capable of exhibiting people’s true sentiments while encountering a specific circumstance, but they also can provide viewers with all details of a peculiar event to help them obtain their own interests from the scene. However, they are less authentic when it comes to court-related issues and laws.