Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of ways through which information is disseminated and opinions are expressed. In this vein, the superpower of the humans of the recent century, the Internet and its ensuing platforms like social media have confronted people with diverse backgrounds to a large number of ideas, mostly widespread by celebrities. Personally speaking, I believe that these ideas are more likely to have an impact on young people rather than older people. This essay will explore a couple of reasons for my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, young people are more affected by the opinions of famous people due to the lack of a solid body of knowledge and experience to set their judgements on. On the other hand, having been subject to various situations, older people are more capable of distinguishing between good and bad opinions. I think a personal example can shed some light on this issue. A couple of years ago, I followed a famous girl on Instagram. Once, she announced that she had decided to gather money to help poor people. As I was completely under her impression, I decided to help her, leaving out the fact that I did not know that girl very well. My father told me that he had been deceived in the same way when he was a young man. The boy, who had told my father that he would have spent that money to help a poor man, just had run away after my father had trusted him. I realized that it could be a fraud and did not help that girl. Afterwards, the police arrested that girl carrying a lot of money that people helped her.

Secondly, since young people have more access to the ideas expressed by celebrities and feel more admiration for their success in their own fields, it is more likely for the celebrities' opinions to have an impact on them. In fact, older people are not really fans of technology. Besides, if they have access to the wide variety of virtual networks, they will prefer to follow politicians or older singers and actors who express more logical and reasonable ideas on their pages. On the contrary, young people prefer to follow celebrities who are young because they are not old-fashioned and have more innovative styles. Thus, young people are more prone to be guided towards confusing or even wrong ways because their mentors could be on wrong tracks, too. Therefore, older people could manage their source of influences better than young people due to the fact that those resources are limited.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that young people are more prone to be influenced by celebrities' ideas. Not only do they have less experience to understand the consequences of following celebrities' attitudes, but they also have wider access to famous people's ideas compared to older people.