The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis. "In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction. This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work."

In this letter, the author addresses a problem regarding a decline in the number of applicants for large law firms and proposes some reasons and corresponding solutions. According to the author, fewer university graduates tend to work in large companies and most of them prefer to work in smaller agencies. This is because these youngsters seek job satisfaction, which could be achieved by working in a small firm. She or he sets her or his assumption based on first-year students’ assertion about the prominence of job satisfaction over the high salaries. However, the author’s suggestion is wanting in several aspects.

First of all, the author maintains that recent graduates choose to work for smaller companies, even though they are offered the opportunity of holding a job in a reputable corporation. This could be a controversial supposition. Since prestigious enterprises establish high requirements to recruit new employees, it would be immensely arduous to be eligible to work in such firms. High requirements including a professional degree from a high-ranked university, significantly high GPA, a solid background of experience and so forth are a couple of these requirements. Thus, it is likely that the celebrated institutions are not employing the new graduates rather than the young applicants are not sending applications to them.

Secondly, according to the author, job satisfaction is an intrinsic feature of working in a small office. This conjecture could be challenged profoundly. Due to the fact that renowned corporations are full of outstanding projects and professional teams, it is likely to be able to provide young workers with higher responsibilities, which require more productivity and competency. Thus, being offered high level roles and vast areas of being influential, ambitious young people will feel more satisfied and self-gratitude in their workplaces. Therefore, the author sets her or his declaration based on a quivering premise.

Thirdly, to support her or his attitude towards the higher significance of job satisfaction compared to high salaries, the author takes advantage of the postulation of the first-year law students. It is extremely substantial that there is a deep difference between freshmen and seniors. First-year students are in their first steps towards their goals. Hence, they could have a less mature outlook towards their professional lives due to their optimism and altruism. Their assertion could hardly be a representative of their senior counterparts in the sense of job finding process.

In conclusion, although the authors’ supposition might seem flawless at first glance, it lacks the answer to noteworthy questions. If the author provides the readers with extra sufficient information about the stringent requirements of the large firms, the results of a questionnaire about the job satisfaction in small and large companies with related criteria and so forth, it could be more effortless to find the true reason and the corresponding solution. Otherwise, the author did not consider a couple of effective elements in his or her conclusion.