A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Development of technology has resulted in a considerable increase in the number of large factories, and we are more likely to have a couple of them in our neighborhood these days. Like any other change in an area, this would have some advantages and disadvantages. But, thoroughly, I would support the factory, if I had one in my community. The reasons for my perspective are provided through the following paragraphs.

First of all, I think to build a large factory in a vicinity is advantageous because it can raise job opportunities for local people. Therefore, it is more plausible for people to find a job, raise their level of wealth and comfort and then be more satisfied financially and mentally. Moreover, if offices are near the residencies, people will not travel from east to west of the city to reach to their workplaces. These long commuting using motor vehicles will increase the carbon footprint and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere and finally result in air pollution and global warming, two main life-threatening issues of the current century. So, the improvement of living standards and the less environmental pollution are two main results of the high job offers in the neighborhood.

Secondly, large factories in a community can attract individuals which will lead to facilities improvement in the area. I remember the time when I was a high school student and used to live in a small local area. I had to walk for a long time in order to reach to a bus station and go to school. Actually, everything was far away and we had to go to other vicinities to buy our groceries or have a little fun. Then a factory was built near the neighborhood. People started to come for work or just to take a quick look. Afterwards, some buses along with a metro station provided and improved the public transportation, some grocery and department stores were launched, an appealing park were built in the region and consequently a new life came to the area. I think the more people visit a neighborhood due to the opportunities of a large factory, the more the welfare of the area would be.

All in all, despite some shortcomings that a large factory would exert to an area, advantages of building a large factory such as new job opportunities for local people and its consequent effects on the life quality and environment together with enhancement of the facilities considering the increase of guests and new residents would be worth it.