If you were asked to send one thing representing your country to an international exhibition, what would you choose? Why? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Every nation, all around the world, has its own specific history and culture created through thousands of hardships and wounds which have already been overpassed. Thus, that is not possible to represent a whole country by only one thing. Anyway, if there was an international exhibition for countries, I would send the Persian carpet as a representative of Iran for several reasons that I explore through the following paragraphs.

First of all, I believe that the Persian carpet is the best symbol of Iran in an international exhibition because it is a board full of Persian arts. There has always been this argument that Persians were the most brilliant artists of ancient eras. Different types of beautiful art works including Persian carpet from ancient Persia would show why there has been such a debate. Knots of Persian carpet were created ages ago and have become more strong and elegant during the time. Besides, combining apparently-different but consciencely-compatible colors in a large board, stunning design of the whole art work, delicately-elaborated details in every inch of the carpet and many other great features altogether bring an unearthly enchanted art to the party.

Secondly, Persian carpet as a representative of Iran in an international exhibition is in a close interaction with Persian’s culture and historical life. Making carpets by hand is still common in different parts of the country. As every section of Iran has its own culture, rituals, history and even language, carpets created in each part is a mirror of thoughts of people whom it belongs to. The carpet, like a painting, could show some religious beliefs, cultural rituals like wedding parties, hunting and other ways of illustrating the power, a scene of war between kingdoms or simply just a combination of geometries come to the mind of a housewife. Thus, every manually-created carpet from each part of the country has its own story and could represent the culture of that part.

On the whole, it is not that easy to find a single object which could represent the whole country especially age-old ones like Iran. But, due to the wonderful art in addition to the cultural and historical representation of the Persian carpet, I suppose that it is the best symbol of Iran in an international exhibition.