"If you were asked to send one thing representing your country to an international exhibition, what would you choose? Why? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice."

An exhibition is a space where you can show to the public the potential of your products and promote them for those who lack knowledge about them. Also, it is a great way to learn. If I were invited to an international exhibition, I would exhibit a gastronomic dish such as pupusas.

Pupusas are a typical dish from El Salvador, recently it has been named as national dish which is celebrated Nov 8. In particular, pupusas are made with corn tortilla or rice flour. There are variations of filling that you can use. For instance; meat, fish, cheese, vegetables, refried beans, and any other ingredients that you feel comfortable with. However, the most popular combination is meat and cheese. Normally, pupusas are accompanied by two sides of curtido (a spicy cabbage slaw) and tomato salsa and are eaten by hand. Moreover, pupusas have been a traditional and satisfying dish for a long time. Pupusas represent an important element in the economy of El Salvadort. In fact, for many people in El Salvador, they have become the only source of income for their household. For this reason, I think the pupusas would represent my country on a unique level.

Eating pupusas twice a week, or everyday, is very common in El Salvador, for many reasons. To begin with, they are low cost. You can feed a family of 4 with just $4 or $5 for a meal. Furthermore, they are delicious. Pupusas have such a great taste and it is mouthwatering to watch them be made in a local place. The smell is a pleasure and makes you want to try them.

Being that this a really popular dish among the Salvadorans, it would be important that other nations learn about such a great dish.