Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? Interrupt and correct the mistake right away. Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader. Say nothing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to the creation of a world full of new facilities, opportunities and rights including the freedom of speech in which people can freely express their ideas and share their opinions. As a result, I would go to the meeting leader right after the meeting to discuss the point made in his speech and I realized it was wrong. This essay will explore the reasons for my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it is substantial to point out a speaker's mistake to make him aware of his misunderstanding of the subject. Otherwise, he may not understand his error and may repeat the same mistake over and over again in different situations some of which might be very crucial for him. However, talking about a mistake privately is definitely the right of every speaker because he may feel embarrassed and lose his confidence while being criticized publicly. For example, when I was a high school student, my chemistry teacher had difficulty pronouncing an English word. I spotted his mistake on the first day of class, but because he was a very professional teacher in his field, I could not tell him that he was wrong. Afterwards, I saw my teacher on television making the same mistake. I felt very sorry that I did not tell him about the correct pronunciation and let that awful disaster happen to him.

Secondly, addressing a mistake and discussing it would be beneficial for the error-spotter as well as the speaker to some extent. In fact, by talking about a misunderstanding with the speaker, the person would find out if he correctly got the main points of the subject. I think a personal example can shed some light on this statement. A couple of years ago, I took part in a conference about bridge engineering. During the sessions, I spotted an error in the research procedure of one of the speakers. In the break time, I went to him and asked about that specific part of the procedure to draw his attention to the mistake. While he was explaining, I found out that I was wrong about a very important rule of the research. If I had not talked about the mistake, I would have not realized my misunderstanding, even though that was not my intention.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that it is more beneficial to talk about a mistake with the speaker but privately. Not only will this help him to know his mistake and correct it in a way that would not disturb his self-esteem, but it also can help the person who finds the mistake to figure out if he himself is not wrong.