Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In this memorandum, the author provides a problem and its corresponding solution based on a couple of assumptions. According to the author, the late-night news program truncated its coverage of weather and local news and allocated much time to national ones. Thus, viewers demonstrated considerable complaints about the lack of weather and local news and advertisers cancelled their shows during the late-night news program. Consequently, the author believes that in order to save their viewers and advertising revenues, the station should allocate time to weather and local news. However, in my opinion, the author's supposition is wanting in several aspects.

First of all, the author maintains that people who criticize the station for the shortage of weather and local news are all viewers of the late-night news program. However, he or she does not provide any proof supporting his or her declaration. People could watch television and follow news in different hours and they might be unsatisfied with the news coverage in the entire day. The viewers of late-night news program could actually be completely satisfied with the national news and instead of them, viewers of morning news program exhibit complaint regarding the news coverage. Therefore, the author made his assertion based on a quivering premise.

Secondly, about the abrupt plummet in the number of local businesses which were willing to advertise during the late-night news program previously, there could be several incentives. For instance, there might be a sudden increase in the price of advertising that discouraged local businesses from investing in the late-night program advertisements. Since the author does not present any extra information about the other possible changes and fails to declare his or her viewpoint rationally, it is not effortless to accept it.

Thirdly, the author suggests that the time of weather and local news should be restored to its previous level in order to please the current viewers and retain the potential advertisers. This conjecture could be challenged thoroughly since the author provides no proof of his or her postulation. Restoring the lost time does not necessarily yield the results that the author states considering that the real source of people's complaints is not lucid. Hence, the proposed solution might not be effective and advantageous to solve the problem that the television station has faced recently.

In conclusion, although the author's statement seems competent at first glance, it is lacking the required extra information to be convincing enough, and as a result, it is logically flawed. It should be clear that people who are unsatisfied with national news coverage are the late-night news viewers or not. Besides, it is important to rule out other possible reasons for the shortage of advertising desire in television station to make the addressed claim persuasive and irrefutable.